Eagle Update

Tough break for men’s soccer as they dropped a 1-0 heartbreaker to FDU in the conference semifinals and now must hope for an at-large bid to the NCAA tournament. Still, eight players made All-Conference, including three first-teamers: forward Eric Giovagnoli, midfielder Mitch Osterhouse, and center Jair Saenz. Freshman goalkeeper Joe Centeno tied a school record with 12 shutouts.

Unfortunately, women’s soccer dropped their final three games to miss the conference playoffs. Junior Emily Roquemore and sophomore Elayna Simpson provided a bright spot, garnering All-Conference honors for the season.

Conference titles are becoming a habit for women’s volleyball. A sweep of DeSales gave them their sixth straight and fifteenth in sixteen years. Sophomore setter Rikki Schlager earned championship MVP honors. On top of that, Schlager joined Kearby Benak, Lauren Sproles, Rylie Haas, Katrina Pisch and Stephanie Elechko as All-Conference Selections.

Though they won’t be playing in the postseason, field hockey went out with a bang, taking an overtime thriller over Haverford 4-3 on a penalty shot goal from sophomore Megan Bolton. More good news for Bolton: she was named Defensive Player of the Year for the conference. She was joined by Jess Jaindl and Sarah Webb on the All-Conference team.

Cross country had a great day at the MAC championships. The men’s team moved up two spots to eight while the girls jumped one spot to seventh. A number of runners set personal bests and for the first time the team had runners on the All-Conference team in junior Josey Rupert and sophomore Adrienne Borelli.

Comments are closed.